Victorian Cricket Team

Nickname: Big V
Ex Nickname: Victorian Bushrangers (1995-2018)
Team Country: Australia
Team City: Melbourne, Victoria
Team Administrator: Cricket Victoria (CV)
Founded (Year): 1851
Home Ground: Melbourne Cricket Ground
Home Ground: Junction Oval
Coach: Chris Rogers
Captain: Peter Handscomb
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs
Victorian Cricket Team

Victorian Cricket Team: Competitions

Victorian Cricket Team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Sheffield Shield Sheffield Shield 32 1893, -95, -98, -99; 1901, -08, -15, -22, -24, -25, -28, -30, -31, -34, -35, -37, -47, -51, -63, -67, -70, -74, -79, -80, -91, 2004, -09, -10, -15, -16, -17, -19

Victorian Cricket Team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years One Day Cup One Day Cup 6 1972, -80, -95, -99, 2011, -18

Australia National Cricket Team: Current Squad

Aaron Finch Aaron Finch Glenn Maxwell Glenn Maxwell All-rounder

Victorian Cricket Team: Australian team of the State of Victoria

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Victorian Cricket Team (Australia)

The Australian state of Victoria is the smallest state on the territory of the mainland of Australia. But here, of course, there was a place for the most popular game in the country – cricket. So, at the largest competitions in Australia, this state is represented by the Victorian Cricket Team, which has existed for more than 170 years.

Victorian Cricket Team - celebrating the Sheffield Shield
Victorian Cricket Team – celebrating the Sheffield Shield

Victorian Cricket Team: a brief overview

Victorian Cricket Team has been a regular participant in the largest domestic cricket competitions in Australia throughout its long history, such as the Sheffield Shield and the Marsh One Day Cup limited-overs competition. Of course, the team’s athletes also took part in major but now defunct tournaments, including the Twenty20 competition, the Twenty20 Big Bash. And, we must say that Victorian Cricket Team is one of the most successful cricket teams in Australia.

Victorian Cricket Team has two home grounds at once: Melbourne Cricket Ground (capacity – more than 100000 spectators) and Junction Oval (capacity – 7000 spectators).

Victorian Cricket Team signature colors are dark blue, white and gray. The team’s logo is an interlacing of the letters V, C and A, executed in the main color of Victoria.

The team is a member of the Cricket Victoria Association and is managed by it. Victorian Cricket Team also often attracts players from the Victorian Premier Cricket tournament to its ranks.

Victorian Cricket Team - In the One-Day Cricket Game
Victorian Cricket Team – In the One-Day Cricket Game

Victorian Cricket Team: history and main events

The Victorian Cricket Team began its long journey from the very origins of the appearance of this sport in Australia. The starting point was 1838 when the Melbourne Cricket Club appeared: then the club’s team played the first match against the Victorian Military, but it did not have official status.

A landmark date in the team’s history was their first official intercolonial game against Tasmania, which took place in 1851 in Launceston. Victorian Cricket Team initially proved to be the dominant force in Australian cricket and proved it perfectly by winning two of the first three Sheffield Shield tournaments (in total, Victorian Cricket Team will win this tournament more than 30 times). The team also won the vast majority of home-friendly matches.

Later, in 1895, the Victorian Cricket Association was founded, later renamed Cricket Victoria. Since then, the team has been a part of this association.

Over the years in the sport, Victorian Cricket Team has brought up dozens of legendary cricketers, including Warwick Armstrong, Jack Blackham, Hugh Trumble, Bill Woodfull and many others.

Victorian Cricket Team - Well-Deserved Awards
Victorian Cricket Team – Well-Deserved Awards

The team also has its own record, which no first-class cricket team has been able to surpass: they have twice scored more than 1000 points per innings. This was achieved in the 1922-1923 season in a match against Tasmania (1023 points) and the 1926-1927 season against NSW (1107 points).

Victorian Cricket Team: achievements

Currently, the Victorian Cricket Team continues to be one of the top cricket teams in Australia. At least, the guys have not given up their positions for the last few decades.

We offer you to get acquainted with the achievements of the team, which will certainly be replenished:

  • Sheffield Shield Winners (First-Class Cricket) – 32 wins
    1892/93, 1894/95, 1897/98, 1898/99, 1900/01, 1907/08, 1914/15, 1921/22, 1923/24, 1924/25, 1927 / 28, 1929/30, 1930/31, 1933/34, 1934/35, 1936/37, 1946/47, 1950/51, 1962/63, 1966/67, 1969/70, 1973/74, 1978/79, 1979/80, 1990/91, 2003/04, 2008/09, 2009/10, 2014/15, 2015/16, 2016/17, 2018/19.
  • Winners of National One Day Cup Titles (Limited Overs Cricket) – 6 wins
    1971/72, 1979/80, 1994/95, 1998/99, 2010/11, 2018/19.
  • KFC Twenty20 Big Bash Winners (Twenty20 Cricket) – 4 wins – not currently participating
    2005/06, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2009/10.

Victorian Cricket Team: squad

Victorian Cricket Team - Squad List
Victorian Cricket Team – Squad List

The current squad of the Victorian Cricket Team for 2021 is as follows.

Shirt Number Name
2 Matthew Short
5 Aaron Finch
10 Will Pucovski
14 Marcus Harris
15 Mackenzie Harvey
22 Eamonn Vines
29 Travis Dean
53 Nic Maddinson
Edward Newman
3 Jackson Coleman
16 Tom O’Connell
18 Jon Holland
19 James Pattinson
25 Scott Boland
26 Xavier Crone
35 Mitch Perry
Sam Grimwade
Zak Evans
12 Will Sutherland
32 Glenn Maxwell
7 Sam Harper
36 Seb Gotch
Patrick Rowe

Victorian Cricket Team is one of the most interesting in Australian cricket. Follow the News of the team, and also use Tips for matches with its participation.

Victorian Cricket Team: FAQ

What types of cricket does the Victorian Cricket Team play?

The Victorian Сricket Team plays First-Class cricket and Limited Overs cricket (One-Day cricket).

What competitions does the Victorian Cricket Team participate in?

The Victorian Cricket Team represents the Australian State of Victoria in the Marsh Sheffield Shield (First-Class Cricket) and Marsh One-Day Cup (Limited Overs Cricket) tournaments.

When was the Victorian Cricket Team founded?

The Victorian Cricket Team played its first match in 1851.

Where is the Victorian Cricket Team based?

The Victorian Cricket Team is based in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

What cricket grounds does the Victorian Cricket Team play at?

The Victorian Cricket Team plays at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG, "The G") in East Melbourne with a capacity of up to 100000 and the Junction Oval (St Kilda Cricket Ground, CityPower Centre) in St Kilda with a capacity of up to 7000.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Comments on Article

No Comments for this post

Leave Your Comment

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form