Tasmania cricket team

Nickname: Tasmanian Tigers
Team Country: Australia
Team City: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Team Administrator: Tasmanian Cricket Association
Founded (Year): 1851
Home Ground: Blundstone Arena
Coach: Adam Griffith
Captain: Matthew Wade
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Tasmania cricket team

Tasmania cricket team: Competitions

Tasmania cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Sheffield Shield Sheffield Shield 3 2007, 2011, 2013

Tasmania cricket team: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years One Day Cup One Day Cup 4 1979, 2005, 2008, 2010

Tasmania cricket team: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Big Bash League Big Bash League 0

Tasmania cricket team: a brief overview

Published: Reading time: ~ 5 min. Comments: 0
Tasmania cricket team

The island part of Australia also does not find itself on the sidelines of cricket. In particular, the state of Tasmania and its cricket team – the Tasmania cricket team (Tasmanian Tigers). Athletes participate in top Australian tournaments annually, such as the Sheffield Shield and the limited overs Matador BBQs One-Day Cup.

The Tasmania cricket team made their first appearance in 1851 against the Victory team, which they beat by three wickets. Since then, the athletes have had different periods of success and failure, which we will discuss in the review’s corresponding section. From the 1950s to the present, it is a member of the Cricket Tasmania (formerly the Tasmanian Cricket Association). Under the auspices of this administrative body, it continues to perform at tournaments in Australia.

The home arena of the Tasmania cricket team is Bellerive Oval (city of Bellerive, Tasmania). The venue was opened in 1914 and can accommodate up to 20,000 spectators.

The team’s corporate colors are green, gold and red, while these colors accompany the team almost from the moment of its foundation. Also, in 1995–1996, a new, modernized logo was adopted, which depicts the Tasmanian wolf in the team’s corporate colors.

Tasmania cricket team: the origin and history of the team

Tasmania cricket team: the origin and history of the team

It is known for certain that cricket came to Tasmania back in the days of European settlement in 1803: this game was very popular among the marines who served in the then young colony. The first recorded match was held in 1806, although unofficial games were held throughout the time.

For a long time, there was no club cricket organization in Tasmania until the 1850s. Then the first first-class match in Tasmania took place, in which the state team faced the Victory team. As we have already said, Victory lost, and the match itself gathered about 2,500 spectators.

But the development of cricket in Tasmania was hindered by geographical isolation; few people wanted to make a long sea crossing. Nevertheless, local cricket was developing, but this was not enough to win against competitive teams. For example, in the early 1870s, the Tasmanian national team again played against Victory, but all three matches were lost.

A new stage in cricket development in Tasmania was in 1880 when the TCA Ground was established. The presence of a permanent platform ensured the growth of the players’ professionalism and the level of their game. In the 1890s, the Tasmanian national team played against Victory and NSW almost every year and already boasted cool players.

The tragic historical events known to everyone led to the fact that until 1923 the team faced serious financial problems. After the resumption of activities, the Tasmanian Cricket Association made attempts to break into the Sheffield Shield, but applications were rejected time after time.

Fateful in the history of the Tasmanian team was the appearance of a new player – Jack Simmons. He joined the Tigers in the 1972-1973 season, and the team’s competitiveness began to grow, thanks to the high role of the new captain. Finally, in 1977, athletes from Tasmania were admitted to the Sheffield Shield championship for a trial period of two years. Even though under the leadership of Simmons, the team won only one of the twelve first-class matches, this player is associated with the arrival of other notable and professional players, including Michael Holding, Winston Davis, Patrick Patterson, Richard Hadlee and Dennis Lillee.

Since the mid-1990s, the “era of the Tasmanian Tigers” began: it was then that the team acquired the name familiar to us and began to achieve success. In the 1993-1994 season, the Tigers reached the Sheffield Shield final for the first time but lost to NSW. Nevertheless, the Tasmanian national team showed that it could play at the highest level during this period. In the 2006-2007 season, the Tasmanian Tigers finally manage to win the highest cricket award in the best Australian tournament for the first time in their history.

Achievements of the Tasmania cricket team and the current state of the team

Achievements of the Tasmania cricket team and the current state of the team

Today, the Tasmania cricket team continue to be competitive and produce quite good results in all domestic tournaments in Australia. The team received its last championship title in the 2012-2013 season, but this does not prevent the guys from growing new top players.

In 2022, the current squad of the Tasmanian Tigers is as follows:

  • Batsmen: Caleb Jewell, Charlie Wakim, Jordan Silk, Mac Wright, Tim Ward.
  • Bowlers: Gabe Bell, Jackson Bird, Jarrod Freeman, Riley Meredith, Lawrence Neil-Smith, Peter Siddle, Sam Rainbird, Nathan Ellis, Iain Carlisle, Billy Stanlake.
  • Wicketkeepers: Jake Doran, Matthew Wade, Ben McDermott, Tim Paine.
  • All-rounders: Mitchell Owen, Beau Webster, Tom Andrews, Bradley Hope, Nivethan Radhakrishnan.

Current achievements of the Tasmanian Tigers in tournaments:

  • First place in the Sheffield Shield: 2006-2007, 2010-2011, 2012-2013.
  • Sheffield Shield Finalists: 1993-1994, 1997-1998, 2001-2002, 2011-2012.
  • First place in the Domestic One-Day Cup: 1978-1979, 2004-2005, 2007-2008, 2009-2010.
  • Domestic One-Day Cup Finalists: 1977-1978, 1986-1987, 2011-2012.
  • Domestic Twenty20 Cup Finalists: 2006-2007.

Among the most famous participants of the Tasmania cricket team are such athletes as Keith Bradshaw, Troy Cooley, Richard Hadlee and many others. The sponsors of the team include such large companies as Lion, Cadbury, TOYOTA AUSTRALIA and others.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Comments on Article

No Comments for this post

Leave Your Comment

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form