Somerset County Cricket Club

Nickname: Somerset Sabres
Team Country: England
Team City: Taunton, Somerset, London
Founded (Year): 1875
Home Ground: County Ground, Taunton
Coach: Jason Kerr
Captain: Tom Abell
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Somerset County Cricket Club

Somerset County Cricket Club: competitions

Somerset County Cricket Club: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
County Championship 0

Somerset County Cricket Club: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Friends Provident Trophy/RLODC 3 1979, 1983, 2001
Benson & Hedges Cup 2 1981, 1982
Royal London One-Day Cup Royal London One-Day Cup 4 1979, 1983, 2001, 2019
Pro40 League 1 2005

Somerset County Cricket Club: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Twenty20 Cup 1 2008

Somerset County Cricket Club: an overview of the England cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 3 min. Comments: 0
Somerset County Cricket Club

The Somerset County Cricket Club is part of eighteen first-class clubs in England and Wales and represents their home county. The team was founded in 1875 and continues to take part in the top English championships, but Somerset has not yet taken first place in the County Championship. The limit of the guys at the moment is silver, taken in 2001, 2010, 2012, 2016, 2018 and 2019. However, at the same time, the team participates in smaller one-day tournaments, where it achieves some success.

Somerset’s home ground is the County Ground, which is located in Taunton. The capacity is about 8,500 people.

The coat of arms of the team depicts a dragon, which is the symbol of the county. It is painted in the Somerset brand color.

Somerset County Cricket Club: A brief history of the English cricket team

The first mention of cricket in the county of Somerset appears on July 13, 1751; it was then that the first recorded match was held in this region. However, the creation of an official cricket club has not yet been discussed.

Only after more than 120 years, in 1875, it was decided to create a Somerset County Cricket Club that would represent their county. This happened after a match between Gentlemen of Somerset and the Gentlemen of Devon, and the foundation itself took place in Devon. At the moment, Somerset is the only first-class club of the English counties that was founded outside of its territory.

There are several versions about when Somerset County Cricket Club played their first first-class match, but we will stick to the official data. So, this event is considered to be the game against Lancashire, which took place on June 8 – 10, 1882, at Old Trafford. Then Somerset County Cricket Club joined the unofficial County Championship at that time; however, after the 1885 season, they could not organize enough matches with other teams of their level.

After giving the County Championship the status of an official tournament, Somerset County Cricket Club was restored to itsits rank. However, the athletes did not show serious success until 1919, when they took fifth place in the standings for the first time in the last 27 years (the other indicators were always lower). The team still consisted of both good professionals and simple amateurs.

Somerset County Cricket Club took its first serious awards in major tournaments only in 1979, when it won the One-Day Cup and the National League.

Somerset County Cricket Club: A brief history of the English cricket team

Somerset County Cricket Club currently and the achievements of the team

At the moment, Somerset County Cricket Club has not been able to achieve serious success in the main championships of England. The team continues to participate in tournaments, looking for itself, but so far, their efforts are limited to second place in the County Championship and several awards in other tournaments.

Current list of Somerset Awards:

First XI honours

  • One-Day Cup – 1979, 1983, 2001, 2019.
  • National League – 1979.
  • Benson & Hedges Cup – 1981, 1982.
  • Twenty20 Cup – 2005.

Second XI honours

  • Minor Counties Championship – 1961, 1965.
  • Second XI Championship – 1994, 2004.

Somerset County Cricket Club currently and the achievements of the team

The current composition of Somerset County Cricket Club for 2022:

  • Batsmen: Andrew Umeed, Will Smeed, George Bartlett, Tom Abell (captain), Sean Dickson, George Thomas.
  • Bowlers: Alfie Ogborne, Kasey Aldridge, Sonny Baker, Jack Leach, Ned Leonard, Josh Dave, Jack Brooks, Shoaib Bashir.
  • Wicket-keepers: Steven Davies, Tom Banton, James Rew, Tom Kohler-Cadmore.
  • All-rounders: Craig Overton, Tom Lammonby, Lewis Gregory, Roelof van der Merwe, Ben Green.

At the moment, the head coach of the team is Jason Kerr.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form