Ragama Cricket Club

Team Country: Sri Lanka
Team City: Colombo, Sri Lanka
Founded (Year): 1989
Captain: Janith Liyanage
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Ragama Cricket Club

Ragama Cricket Club: competitions

Ragama Cricket Club: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Premier Trophy Premier Trophy 0

Ragama Cricket Club: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Premier Limited Overs Tournament 0

Ragama Cricket Club: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Twenty20 Tournament 1 2006–07

Ragama Cricket Club: professional team

Published: Reading time: ~ 3 min. Comments: 0
Ragama Cricket Club

The Ragama Cricket Club (RCC) is one of the leading cricket clubs in Sri Lanka, represented in all domestic tournaments, including the Premier Division Tier A.

The biggest achievement of the RCC is the victory in the 20th Premier Club Tournament organized by the Sri Lanka Cricket under the leadership of Duminda Perera in the 2006/07 season.

The team is based in the suburb of Colombo and represents the western provinces of Sri Lanka. Home matches are played at the Free Trade Zone Sports Complex, which seats 10,000.

Ragama Cricket Club: history

In 1989, three active Sri Lankan top cricketers (Roshan Abeysinghe, Roshan Iddamalgoda and Uditha Wijesundara) created their franchise in the discipline. It turned out to be easy to realize the idea in Sri Lanka, where the popularity of cricket has no boundaries. This is how the new Ragama Cricket Club was born.

However, cricket was too expensive a sport at that time, so the founders had to find the minimum starting funds, allowing the club to debut in the third division of the BCCSL. It is not surprising that the team led by Roshan Abeysinghe managed to prove themselves worthy.

The 1995/96 season was historical for the RCC when the club scored 465/7 points in an ODI match against Ganemulle CC. Subsequently, the record was even reflected in the centerfold of the July 1996 Wisden magazine. This triumph was accompanied by the victory of the Ragama in the tournament of the III division in the 1995/96 season.

Excellent results and high quality of play allowed the club to qualify for the second division, where they finished second under the leadership of new capital Emil Dias. Impressive work on the pitch and in the locker room was the reason for long-term cooperation with Dias, which later received the right to take the team to the Sara Trophy tournament.

The RCC then qualified for the 2000/01 Premier Division, finishing second there. At that time, Dammika Vaz Gunawardane took over the team’s leadership, with Keerthi Guneratne acting as coach. It was an award deserved in the most dignified way.

Ragama Cricket Club: history

Ragama Cricket Club: stadium

The club was very fortunate to have the timely support of Edward Silva, a member of the Western Provincial Council, who arranged land for the home stadium, while another member of the Council, Doglous Fernando, provided equipment for the RCC.

The Free Trade Zone Sports Complex was commissioned in 2002. By the standards of that time, a modern sports center included a gym, restaurants, and a media platform.

From the height of time, the management of the club summed up the results of their activities. The conclusion was that the secret of the franchise’s rapid success lies in a well-organized management team of professionals led by passionate Roshan Abeysinghe.

Ragama Cricket Club: line-up

Ragama Cricket Club: line-up

The Ragama Cricket Club line-up for the 2021-22 season is as follows:

No Name Age Batting Style Bowling Style Notes
2 Roshen Silva 32 Right-handed Right-arm off-break
9 Shehan Fernando 28 Right-handed Right-arm off-break
18 Lahiru Thirimanne 31 Left-handed Right-arm medium-fast Captain
Udara Jayasundera 30 Left-handed Right-arm leg-break
1 Janith Liyanage 26 Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
11 Ishan Jayaratne 32 Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
14 Akshu Fernando 30 Right-handed Right-arm off-break
Chathura Peiris 30 Left-handed Left-arm medium-fast
3 Sameera de Zoysa 34 Left-handed
4 Lahiru Milantha 27 Left-handed
Saminda Fernando 25 Right-handed
5 Kushan Weerakkody Right-arm fast-medium
6 Nishan Peiris 23 Left-handed Right-arm off-break
8 Aravinda Akurugoda 25 Right-handed Right-arm leg-break
17 Amila Aponso 28 Right-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Sahan Nanayakkare 25 Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Udith Madushan 24 Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium

* international players are in bold.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert
Other articles by this author: - Short - Waft - Twenty20 All articles by this author

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form