Mountaineers cricket team

Team Country: Zimbabwe
Team City: Mutare, Manicaland region, Zimbabwe
Founded (Year): 2009
Home Ground: Mutare Sports Club, Mutare
Coach: Gary Brent
Captain: Donald Tiripano
Forms of Cricket: First-Class
Mountaineers cricket team

Mountaineers cricket team: competitions

Mountaineers cricket team: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Logan Cup Logan Cup 0

Mountaineers cricket team: about the Zimbabwe cricket team

Published: Reading time: ~ 4 min. Comments: 0
Mountaineers cricket team

The Mountaineers cricket team / Mountaineers is one of the leading Zimbabwean cricket franchises with active participation in first-class format matches. The club represents the Mashonaland East region and is based in Manicaland. It plays home matches at the Mutare Sports Club stadium.

Mountaineers cricket team: history

After the discipline fell into decay, Zimbabwe Cricket radically changed the situation by introducing new commands in all forms (the first-class, the List A, the T20). Thus, one of the five leading clubs in the country was founded – The Mountaineers cricket team in 2009.

Mountaineers cricket team: debut season

The team made their debut at the 2009/10 Logan Cup, where they finished third in the group with 3 wins in 12 matches. The first two meetings ended in a draw, then the first victory in the history of the club over the Southern Rocks was obtained.

Participation in the next tournament, Metbank One-Day Competition 2009/10, turned out to be quite successful for the Mountaineers. The club loudly declared itself, becoming the champion with 6 wins in 8 matches. The winners of the semifinal meeting practically declassified far from the weakest opponent (the Southern Rocks), and most of the club’s players managed to score points: the Masakadza (44), the Mawoyo (40), the Matsikenyeri (36), the Masakadza (20).

The final confrontation with the Mid West Rhinos began unsuccessfully for the Mountaineers. The team was behind with a large difference in the score, but the captain Prosper Utseya set a positive example, earning the first team points (3-24). Then, the effective interaction of the Utseya – Shingirai Masakadza (41) team inspired confidence in the Mountaineers, which led to the victory.

Despite the loud victoria, the next Stanbic Bank 20 Series 2009-10 tournament was not unambiguous for the club from the group stage. The precarious position was associated with 3 wins in 5 matches, while the group leaders (the Mashonaland Eagles) won 4 of 5 meetings. The Mountaineers only made it to the finals, where they scored a big win thanks to points from Masakadza (64) and Taibu (37).

Mountaineers cricket team: debut season

Mountaineers cricket team: line-up

The team began their debut season 2009-10 with performances in the Logan Cup. At that time, the roster consisted entirely of Zimbabwean players. The captain Hamilton Masakadza, Timycen Maruma, Tatenda Taibu (later transferred to the Matabeleland Tuskers) and the promising Prosper Utseya were the team’s keys.

As part of Stanbic Bank 20 Series 2011/12, Australian star bowler Dirk Nannes joined the club from the Royal Challengers Bangalore (IPL). However, the first major contract was signed not with him but with the South African player Greg Smith.

The next season was rich in line-up changes. Former South African player Allan Donald was appointed as coach, and the team was joined by Sean Ervine, Jonathan Beukes, Lance Klusener and reliable pitcher Liam Dawson.

For the 2020/21 season, the Mountaineers line-up looked like this:

No. Name Birth date Batting Style Bowling Style Notes
3 Timycen Maruma 19 April 1988 (age 33) Right-handed Right-arm leg break googly
Innocent Kaia 10 July 1992 (age 29) Right-handed Right-arm leg break
Kevin Kasuza 20 June 1993 (age 28) Right-handed Right-arm off break
12 Tino Mawoyo 8 January 1986 (age 35) Right-handed Right-arm medium fast
10 Hamilton Masakadza 9 August 1983 (age 37) Right-handed Right-arm medium
Tinashe Chimbambo 8 February 1989 (age 32) Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
Roy Kaia 10 October 1991 (age 29) Right-handed Right-arm off break
Forster Mutizwa 24 July 1985 (age 35) Right-handed Right-arm off break
Tafadzwa Tsiga 13 July 1994 (age 26) Right-handed Right-arm medium
Richmond Mutumbami 11 June 1989 (age 32) Right-handed Right-arm offbreak
Joylord Gumbie 25 December 1995 (age 25) Right-handed
Spin Bowlers
Wellington Masakadza 4 October 1993 (age 27) Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
13 Natsai M’shangwe 9 February 1991 (age 30) Right-handed Leg break
Pace Bowlers
15 Donald Tiripano 17 March 1988 (age 33) Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium Captain
11 Shingirai Masakadza 4 September 1986 (age 34) Right-handed Right-arm fast medium
Victor Nyauchi 8 June 1992 (age 29) Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
William Mashinge 6 October 1996 (age 24) Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
2 Tendai Chatara 28 February 1991 (age 30) Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium

* international players are in bold.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form