Minister Dhaka

Ex Nickname: Dhaka Gladiators, Dhaka Dynamites, Dhaka Platoon
Team Country: Bangladesh
Team City: Dhaka, Dhaka Division
Founded (Year): 2012
Home Ground: Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (Mirpur Stadium)
Coach: Mohammad Salahuddin
Captain: Mashrafe Mortaza
Forms of Cricket: Twenty20
Minister Dhaka

Minister Dhaka: competitions

Minister Dhaka: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Bangladesh Premier League Bangladesh Premier League 3 2012, -13, -16

Dhaka Platoon: Current Squad

Mahmudullah Mahmudullah All-rounder

Minister Dhaka (Dhaka Platoon): Bangladesh professional men's T20 franchise

Published: Reading time: ~ 5 min. Comments: 0
The Dhaka Platoon team

The Dhaka Platoon, also known by the moniker Maath Kapabe Dhaka, is the most successful Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) team. The team’s main site, Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium, is located in Mirpur and is actively used by two other cricket clubs. The colors of the form are yellow and blue.

The Dhaka Platoon squad
The Dhaka Platoon formerly known as the Dhaka Dynamites, is a franchise cricket team that plays in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL)

Dhaka Platoon Maath Kapabe Dhaka: history

The Dhaka Platoon made their league debut in 2012 under the name Dhaka Gladiators and won the first two draws – an achievement that has not been replicated by any BPL representative since.

Ian Pont took over to coach the team in the opening season, with Mashrafe bin Mortaza as captain. The beginning turned out to be controversial: The Dhaka Platoon seemed to give up, having lost to the more experienced Khulna Royal Bengals. However, then they managed to win three victories in a row, and in the third match, where Barisal Burners opposed the team, the first significant record was set: 208 runs across five wickets. Although the Dhaka Gladiators’ batsmen played poorly this season, they again beat the Barisal Burners in the final to take the title.

Several important players soon joined the team. In particular, Dhaka managed to sign the most expensive all-rounder in the league, Shakib Al-Hasan, wicket keeper Anamul Hake, South African bowler Alfonso Thomas and several others, including the British Duke Wright, Darren Stevens and Josh Cobb. A well-thought-out personnel policy quickly bore fruit: the Dakkans finished the 2012-2013 season with the title, winning 11 matches out of fourteen.

After a major scandal that shook the league in 2013, the Dhaka Gladiators were nominally disbanded and reunited under a new name – the Dhaka Dynamites. BEXIMCO Group became the main sponsor of the team.

In 2015, South African-born Mickey Arthur became the head coach of the Dhaka Dynamites, and Nasir Hussain (at the same time A + player) took the place of the team captain. The roster was radically renewed: Mohammad Irfan, Mustafizur Rahman, Yasir Shah, and others joined the Dhaka. The team confidently started the rally beating the Comilla and the Chittagong but stumbled over the Rangpur Riders and Barisal Bulls. Ultimately, the Dhaka Dynamites ended up in fourth place in the table, but they could not pass all the same Barisal Bulls in the playoffs.

Dhaka Platoon from Bangladesh
The Dhaka Platoon is the most successful Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) team

The Dhaka Dynamites started their fourth season in league with a victory against the Barisal Bulls and suffered only two losses in the draw. Having beaten the Rajshahi Kings in the final match, they became three-time winners of the main league trophy, and one of the team’s key players, Dwayne Bravo, was recognized as the best wicket-taker of the tournament. The first place in the list of the most productive batsmen of the Dhaka was taken by Kumar Sangakkara.

In preparation for the 2017-2018 draw, the management relied on foreign players by signing Mohammad Amir, Sunil Narine and Mehedi Maruf and extending the contract with Shakib Al Hasan. However, the Dhaka could not defend the title: having lost at the start, the team subsequently made it to the playoffs but lost to the Rangpur Riders in the final.

Signing ten local cricketers and several foreign stars ahead of next season, the Dhaka had a great start but then suffered five following defeats. The team had to work hard to book a place in the final, but this time the Comilla Victorians became stronger, becoming the champions of the league for the second time. Nevertheless, the tournament player was recognized as the representative of the losing side – Shakib Al Hasan.

Yamuna Bank acquired the rights to the franchise in November 2019, organizing another rebranding, after which the team received its current name – the Dhaka Platoon. Later, Shahid Afridi, Thisara Perera, Tamim Iqbal and Mashrafe Morteza joined it.

Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium
Dhaka Platoon is headquartered at the Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium in Mirpur

Dhaka Platoon Maath Kapabe Dhaka: players

Mohammad Salahuddin coaches the Dhaka Platoon Maath Kapabe Dhaka. The team captain is Mashrafe Morteza, an experienced all-rounder player who has tried himself in all three cricket formats. The most effective players in the current roster include:

  1. Batsmen Tamim Iqbal (396 runs) and Mominul Hake (297 runs);
  2. Bowlers Shahid Afridi and Mahedi Hasan (17 and 12 wickets, respectively).

Dhaka Platoon Maath Kapabe Dhaka: statistics

The Dhaka Platoon Maath Kapabe Dhaka has won the BPL three times and reached the final of the draw twice, which makes it not only the most titled team in the league but also the most effective:

Year Bangladesh Premier League
2012 Champions
2013 Champions
2015 Playoffs
2016 Champions
2017 Runners-up
2019 Runners-up
2019-2020 Playoffs

Dhaka Platoon Maath Kapabe Dhaka: record holders

The Dhaka Platoon Maath Kapabe Dhaka managed to set a number of both seasonal and personal records, in particular:

  • Best Team Batsman – Kumar Sangakkara (827 runs in the 2015-2017 seasons);
  • Most productive batsmen bunch – Mominul Hake and Mahedi Hassan (153 wounds against the Khulna Tigers on January 11, 2020);
  • The maximum number of wickets on account of Shakib Al Hasan is 58.

Dhaka Platoon is one of the most interesting in Bangladesh cricket. Follow the News of the team, and also use Tips for matches with its participation.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form