Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club

Team Country: Sri Lanka
Team City: Colombo, Sri Lanka
Founded (Year): 1899
Home Ground: Paikiasothy Saravanamuttu Stadium
Captain: Ramith Rambukwella
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club

Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club: competitions

Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Premier Trophy Premier Trophy 3 1945–46, 1950–51, 2015–16

Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Premier Limited Overs Tournament 1 1999–00

Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Twenty20 Tournament 0

Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club: professional team

Published: Reading time: ~ 5 min. Comments: 0
Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club

The Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club are one of Sri Lanka’s leading cricket franchises, present in the first-class. The organization has been based in Colombo since its inception in 1899. Home arena – P. Saravanamuttu Stadium. Two-time national champion.

Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club: History

It can be noted that the official date of the appearance of the Tamil Union is December 2, 1899, so the club is not without reason considered one of the oldest. The organization has more than a century of history behind it, by which one can judge the progress and failures of the club.

The first years of the Tamil passed under the patronage of prominent figures in the country (politicians and civil servants), some of whom held positions in the club’s management. This support has become a serious factor for further developing the sports organization and deterrence of the main competitor – the Lanka Sports Club. The opposing clubs on the same territory considered it profitable to unite by the end of 1899, which eventually led to the emergence of the Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club.

The first site for the new association was located in Campbell Park (Borella) and, in addition to cricket, was an arena for matches of other disciplines, including hockey and athletics. However, the organization’s increased attention was focused on the hockey squad, which for several decades (in the 1930s-1960s) remained one of the leading in the country.

Since the 1960s, the club has shown a quantum leap in cricket management thanks to the foresight of its leaders Somasunderam Skandakumar and Selva Perumal. The organization began to expand and recruit players outside of Colombo gradually. The new policy brought immediate results, after which the club began to nurture its own talents, turning them into top-level players like Upul Chandana.

It so happened that in addition to educating the players, the Tamil Union became the main supplier of representatives of the highest governing body of cricket in the country. It all started with the first secretary of the club, Dr. John Rockwood, who later became the first president of the Ceylon Cricket Association. The club’s long-standing success was fueled by the family of one of its presidents, Paikiasothy Saravanamuttu (1948-51), who also got promoted through his work in the TU. T. Murugaser (1980-81) simultaneously worked as club president and vice president of the BCC in the 1980s. Therefore, throughout its existence, the organization had a competitive composition and top-worthy managers.

The Tamil Union is currently the leading cricket sports club in the country.

Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club: History

Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club: stadium

The organization celebrated its own 35th anniversary with a spectacular sports party in 1935. The event was attended by politicians, patrons, business representatives. Subsequently, it turned out that the holiday at the same time became the reason for the announcement of the move to a new site.

The organization bought the land of Colombo Oval in 1937, on which the current arena of the club was erected – Paikiasothy Saravanamuttu Stadium or P. S. Stadium. The official opening was entrusted to the governor, Reginald Edward Stubbs. Today, many experts confirm that the stadium has played an important role in developing first-class cricket in the region by creating excellent conditions for players’ preparation.

Sri Lanka became a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 1981, allowing it to participate in Test matches. Unsurprisingly, P. S. Stadium was chosen to host the first Test between Sri Lanka and England in 1982.

The stadium was renovated and improved in the mid-90s, becoming a modern full-fledged sports complex with its own media center, gym, swimming pool, changing room, 2-tier tribune and lounge bar.

Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club: achievements

Despite the franchise’s long history and strong support from senior management, the club cannot boast of numerous achievements. However, it remains one of the strongest in the region.

The TUC has two Premier Trophies and one Premier Limited championship. Moreover, the fans have no reason to be pessimistic: the team regularly makes the playoffs, which increases its chances for another title.

Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club: achievements

The Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club: line-up

At the moment, the current team of the club is as follows.

No Name Age Batting style Bowling style
43 Kithuruwan Vithanage 30 Left-handed Right-arm leg-break
Tharanga Paranavitana 39 Left-handed Right-arm off-break
Prasansana Jayammanne 26 Right-handed Right-arm off-break
Ranmith Jayasena 21 Left-handed Right-arm off-break
Yohan Mendis 24 Left-handed Right-arm off-break
75 Dhananjaya de Silva 29 Right-handed Right-arm off-break
77 Ramith Rambukwella (Captain) 29 Left-handed Right-arm off-break
88 Jeevan Mendis 38 Left-handed Right-arm leg-break
3 Maduka Liyanapathiranage 29 Right-handed Right-arm off-break
6 Manoj Sarathchandra (Vice-captain) 28 Right-handed
Kamesh Nirmal 21 Right-handed
3 Leo Fransisco 26 Left-handed
8 Pramod Madushan 27 Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
Sadish Pathiranage 24 Right-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
Thilanga Udeshana 23 Right-handed Right-arm medium-fast
Kasun Madushanka 29 Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
Devind Pathmanathan 26 Right-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
82 Suranga Lakmal 34 Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
Vimukthi Perera 31 Left-handed Left-arm fast-medium

* international players are in bold.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form