Chilaw Marians Cricket Club

Team Country: Sri Lanka
Team City: Colombo, Sri Lanka
Founded (Year): 1975
Home Ground: FTZ Sports Complex
Coach: Sarath Jayawardena
Captain: Pulina Tharanga
Forms of Cricket: First-Class Limited Overs Twenty20
Chilaw Marians Cricket Club

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club: competitions

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club: First-Class Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years Premier Trophy Premier Trophy 2 2009–10, 2017-18

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club: Limited Overs Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Premier Limited Overs Tournament 0

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club: Twenty20 Cricket Competitions

Logo Tournament Wins Years
Twenty20 Tournament 1 2004

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club: professional team from Sri Lanka

Published: Reading time: ~ 3 min. Comments: 0
Chilaw Marians Cricket Club

The Chilaw Marians Cricket Club is a Sri Lankan cricket franchise that participates in all domestic first-class tournaments. The team represents the western provinces and is based in Colombo. Home matches are held at the eponymous stadium Chilaw Marians Cricket Club Ground (FTZ Sports Complex), designed for one thousand seats.

The club has twice won the national Premier League Tournament and became the champion of the Twenty20 Tournament in its 46-year history. The Marians made it to the finals of the International 20:20 Club Championship 2005 on the international stage.

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club: Debut Season

The Chilaw Marians belongs to a number of the oldest Sri Lankan cricket clubs, the official date of which is 975. According to historical information, the Marians owe their appearance to a group of cricket lovers and enthusiasts, led by the Reverend Brother Edwin Ambrose, who was in charge of St Mary’s College at that time. Edward Gamini, Shanthi Seneviratne, Rohan Fernandopulle, Dinesh Fernando and Bertram Navaratne created a semi-professional club and started playing from the lower divisions, gradually increasing in level. So since the 1980s,the Marians have made their way from the amateur league to the III division of the BCCSL national championship in less than a decade.

The high results of the team became the reason for the leadership in the person of Irwin Fernando and Godfrey Dabrera to think about taking it to a new level. In this regard, the basic rules for raising the franchise’s status were formulated in the mid-1990s.

The main priority in development was the systematic growth and improvement of the club’s reputation while maintaining the game’s stability. It took the Chilaw less than five years to advance to the BCCSL Division II. At the same time, the junior squad (U23) secured the first trophy for the franchise, becoming the BCCSL champion in the 1997/98 season.

Encouraged by this achievement, the main club also set its sights on the major leagues, which they managed to accomplish by 2000. The Chilaw Marians have successfully qualified for the Premier Division I, aligning with the elite Sri Lankan teams.

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club: Debut Season

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club: History

The Marians team is considered a rare representative of Sri Lankan clubs at the moment that has managed to become a two-time winner of the national trophy. And even though the debut in the major league was in 2000.

The Chilaw has a total of three championships, including winning the Twenty20 Tournament in 2004.

An equally significant achievement for the franchise was reaching the final of the major international competition International 20:20 Club Championship in 2005. The successful performance of the Marians allowed them to reach the final from second place in Group B, where the Sri Lankans (132 (19.5 ov)) could not overcome the team from Pakistan, the Faisalabad Wolves (133/5 (18.1 ov)) in equal opposition.

The last Chilaw championship was in the 2017/18 season, but this is not a reason to be upset because the Marians finished last season 2019/20 in third place in the home championship.

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club: History

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club: Line-up

The Chilaw Marians Cricket Club line-up for the 2019/20 season:

No Name Age Batting Style Bowling Style
Dilshan Sanjeewa 23 Left-handed Right-arm leg-break
Sanoj Darshika 22 Right-handed Slow left-arm orthodox
88 Pulina Tharanga 28 Right-handed Right-arm leg-break
80 Oshada Fernando 29 Right-handed Right-arm leg-break
3 Lasith Croospulle 22 Right-handed Right-arm off-break
16 Thikshila de Silva (Vice-Captain) 27 Left-handed Right-arm fast-medium
31 Shehan Jayasuriya (Captain) 29 Left-handed Right-arm off-break
84 Kamindu Mendis 22 Left-handed Right-arm off-break, Slow left-arm orthodox
10 Rumesh Buddika 30 Left-handed Right-arm off-break
27 Irosh Fernando 22 Left-handed
Pace Bowlers
96 Chathuranga Kumara 29 Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
78 Asitha Fernando 23 Right-handed Right-arm fast-medium
Spin Bowlers
8 Nimesh Vimukthi 24 Left-handed Slow left-arm orthodox

* international players are in bold.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form