Central Europe Cup

Tournament Administrator: Czech Cricket Union
Cricket Forms: T20I
Current Champion: Czech Republic
Nearest Tournament: 30 April 2023 - 24 September 2023
Format Tournament: Twenty20
Numbers Of Team: 6
Central Europe Cup

Central Europe Cup - interesting tournament

Published: Reading time: ~ 2 min. Comments: 0
Central Europe Cup

The world of cricket is home to a variety of competitions where teams from across the globe showcase their skills and passion for the game. In this article, we will be focusing on the Central Europe Cup, an international tourney held in Europe where clubs from Central Europe compete against each other.

Central Europe Cup

Central Europe Cup: the history of the tournament

Since 2014, the Czech Cricket Union has been organizing the Central Europe Cup in Prague, Czech Republic, at the Vinoř Cricket Ground. The tournament has undergone  changes over the years, transitioning from a 50-over competition in 2014 to a Twenty20 tournament in 2019.

Clubs  from ten different countries have joined  the Central Europe Cup since its inception, including Austria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Sweden, and Switzerland. The national teams of Czech Republic and Poland have received the most awards thus far.

In 2014, the Polish national team won gold in the inaugural tournament, followed by Switzerland in second place. The following year saw a repeat of the same result but with Sweden finishing as the runners-up. In 2016, three teams participated, and the Czech Republic emerged as champions. Poland regained their leadership position in 2017, and Switzerland won all three matches to become champions in 2018. In 2019, the Czech Republic beat Hungary in the final to claim victory.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Central Europe Cup was not held in 2020. However, it returned in 2021 with the Austrian squad winning gold after the Maltese guys  refused to gamble due to COVID-19 restrictions. In 2022, three clubs fought again, with the Czech Republic emerging as the first-place winner.

Central Europe Cup: the history of the tournament

Central Europe Cup: winners of the tournament

So that you don’t get confused when studying the statistics of the winners of the Central Europe Cup, we have made a table in which we indicated the owners of the first three places by year.

Year First place Second place Third place
2014 Poland Switzerland Czech Republic
2015 Poland Sweden Estonia
2016 Czech Republic Switzerland Estonia
2017 Poland Luxembourg Czech Republic
2018 Switzerland Czech Republic (Czech Eagles team) Czech Republic
2019 Czech Republic Hungary Switzerland
2020 was not held
2021 Austria Luxembourg Czech Republic
2022 Czech Republic Austria Luxembourg

On our website, you can follow the cricket schedule, as well as get all the most interesting and necessary information about this sport.

Nisha Bhavani
Author: Nisha Bhavani Position: Cricket Expert

Comments on Article

No Comments for this post

Leave Your Comment

Do you need help?

Ask your question

Write us the details in support and we will get back to you

Open Form